Security, Safety and Sovereignty for the Indo-Asia-Pacific


$30,000 Security Innovation Awards announced

The organiser of CIVSEC 2018, Industry Defence and Security Australia Limited, has announced a new program of national innovation awards for Australia’s Civil Security professionals.

The Awards are for Innovators in the Cyber Security, Physical Security & Policing and the Disaster Relief, Emergency Management & Humanitarian fields. These represent the ‘fourth arm’ of Australian security: the protection of communities and national populations – those vital areas which can’t be addressed by the uniformed Australian Defence Force alone. There are two cash awards of $15,000 each, one for the most innovative Small to Medium Enterprise (SME) and one for the most promising Young Innovator. They will be
presented for the first time at CIVSEC 2018 in Melbourne.

Six awards will be presented in total for the following categories:

  • CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Award for Cyber Security
  • CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Award for Physical Security & Policing
  • CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Award for Disaster Relief, Emergency Management and Humanitarian Services
  • CIVSEC 2018 Young Innovator Award
  • CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Award for Civil Security
  • CIVSEC 2018 SME Innovation Grant for Civil Security

“The CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Awards are designed to recognise and reward those Australian companies, government and research organisations and individuals who are innovative in how they tackle the humanitarian and security challenges we all face,” says CIVSEC 2018 CEO Ian Honnery. They are open to Australian companies or the Australian subsidiaries of overseas parent companies, and the innovation could be anything from a new product or service to a new approach to business. Young innovators could be engineers, managers or early-career researchers working in a government agency, industry, academia or a specialist research centre.

Entries will be judged on their understanding of the user needs and the originality of the innovation. Entrants will be able to download Eligibility Criteria, Entry Forms and a Guide to Entrants from the CIVSEC 2018 web site:

These Awards have been developed by the National not-for-profit foundation, Industry Defence and Security Australia Limited, which presents the biennial CIVSEC Congress on civil security as well as the biennial Pacific International Maritime Exposition in Sydney and the Land Forces International Exposition in Adelaide. The Awards will be presented by the Chairman of IDSAL during CIVSEC 2018.

“The awards are aligned with the foundation’s mission to promote the development of Australia’s industry capacity and capability in the humanitarian and security fields,” says Ian Honnery.

“Civil security is a very diffuse field that embraces everything from cyber and transport security to policing, border protection, counter-terrorism, disaster relief and emergency management. We want to recognise the skills and expertise that exist within Australia and reward the highly innovative work which is being undertaken by Australian companies and individuals.”

Nominations for the CIVSEC 2018 Innovation Awards will close on 12 March 2018 with a short list of candidates drawn up by 2 April 2018.

CIVSEC 2018 will be held at the Melbourne Exhibition and Convention Centre (MECC) from 1-3 May 2018.

The Innovation Awards were launched in 2012 by IDSAL’s parent, the Aerospace Maritime Defence and Security Foundation of Australia Limited. Since then Australian companies and researchers have been presented with SME Innovation Grants and Young Innovator Scholarships worth $230,000 at the Pacific International Maritime Exposition, the Land Forces Exposition and the Australian International Airshow and Aerospace & Defence Exposition.

For enquiries about the Innovation Awards contact:

Gregor Ferguson – Executive Manager Industry Development Email Mobile 0414 803 717
Tom Bennett – Executive Manager Media & Communications Email Mobile 0458 068 372